Liverpool won the EFL Cup by beating Chelsea on penalties following a goalless draw at Wembley Stadium yesterday, with Kepa Arrizabalaga missing the 22nd kick of the shoot-out.


A tight encounter saw several big chances missed and four goals disallowed in all before Kepa – who was brought on specifically for the shoot-out – missed the decisive penalty.


The remarkable finish means Liverpool have now won a record nine EFL Cups – one more than Manchester City – with this Jurgen Klopp’s first domestic cup since arriving at Anfield in 2015.


Source: Guardian Sports